I’ve been writing for the Inkwell for about a year now. When I first started last semester I wasn’t sure what I was getting into. I’d done 4 years media production prior to attending Armstrong and only one class of Journalism, which inspired me to become a Psychologist, but that’s a different story. I had not yet chosen my minor in Writing when I started writing for the paper. It was just a hobby to get involved with the campus. That and I really needed some inspiration for my book. I was having some major writers block.

My first article involved going to a seminar for Freshman. The participation that day was zero. I wasn’t sure how to take that, but I covered the article and sent it to Katie. She sent me the revised draft and thus it began, I was writing for the Inkwell. Later that semester I told my adviser I wanted to minor in Writing and that’s how I ended up in Journalsim 3430 this semester. Being told I had to write two articles for the Inkwell was music to my ears, but when we got a new News Editor that didn’t send me a revised draft so I could know what I needed to change, I was a bit worried. How would I know what I needed to fix? How would I know if this was the type of article she wanted? Turns out I would be just fine. It just made me proofread my articles a thousand times over and that was perfectly fine with me.

Overall I’ve enjoyed writing for the school paper and will continue to do so. I’ve had a lot of great experiences, including meeting We the Kings in person, meeting people from different backgrounds and cultures, and attending events that I thought would be a bore and instead turned out to be really great. The possibilities are endless with The Inkwell.

