I have given considerable thought to the future of my blog. At present, I am an English Communications student with the intent of becoming a playwright and screenwriter. I received a BA in Technical Theatre this past May and I intend to develop a website that combines what I am learning now, with what I have learned in Theatre.

I plan to continue blogging within a website that allows anyone that is interested in theatre or fiction writing to be able to contribute. It would be fascinating to have fellow scriptwriters join in on fair, non-bullying critiques of their work. So many times I see comments tacked on the ends of articles that appear mean-spirited and non-contributory.

Short stories, plays, and poems, mixed with public opinion about current events in entertainment will be featured on the site, along with technical tips for theatre. I want a site that allows the contributors a space that will let them be themselves in an environment that is nurturing to the craft as well as the artist.

Will it work? I’m not sure, but I do know that as when I was a high school student, the only outlet that I felt safe was theatre. It allowed a 16 year old gay, shy boy living in a small rural Texas town to overcome obstacles that would help shape me into the man I would become. That was before smart phones and the internet. Before computers and laptops were as common as televisions in homes, and even before social media began to turn citizens into technical zombies. But it doesn’t have to be that way.

Social media in 2014 allows everyone opportunities of self expression if used appropriately, but like anything, it can be abused and misused, however, there is room for everyone. Never stop learning fellow students!

