Over the past sixteen weeks, Professor Dawers has shown us what it is like to be a part of the journalism career field. Although, some people say it is a dying field, I disagree, and believe that now is the perfect time to be a journalist. With the fascination over social media and the getting news from the internet, I find it hard to believe that journalism is dying.

The internet is giving journalists just another way for consumers to access their work. And social media is allowing journalists to brand themselves and create relationships with their viewers, listeners, readers, etc.

I am looking forward to my career as television journalist. I still believe that people watch television news, and if not on their television sets then on their smartphones and tablets. This course has only fueled my passion for journalism. What better job is there than covering stories of controversy, emotion, or impact? People need to know what is going on around them, and journalists inform them of what is happening.

I am not terrified of the internet. I believe that it will do great things for my career and not be so detrimental, like some people want you to believe. Yes, the job can be difficult at times, but what isn’t? Everybody has hard days at work, and I believe that even when those difficult days come, I’ll still be smiling because I’m doing what I have always loved. Journalism.

