Lately I’ve been seeing some weird things on my Facebook timeline. The most recent being that Charles Mason is getting married. Now, while I don’t keep up with killers, because they’re about as low as it gets, I found it a bit strange that alongside the headline, I saw this:

Mass murderer Charles Manson has gotten a license to marry a 26-year-old woman who visits him in prison.

Maybe I’m living in a box, but I find it strange for one, a 26 year old woman wanting to marry a 80 year old man and two, she wants to marry a mass murderer? He’s old enough to be her grandfather!

“Y’all can know that it’s true,” she said. “It’s going to happen.”

“I love him,” she added. “I’m with him. There’s all kinds of things.”

How can you possibly love someone you met behind bars? Maybe it’s possible, but you have to have some sort of chemical imbalance in your brain to believe this man is innocent. I’m a Psychology major and it’s news like this that makes me want to pull out my Intro to Psych book. Clearly there’s something not right here. I didn’t even know a person was allowed to marry in prison, but that’s just me. Like I said, I don’t exactly keep up with the latest prisoners and their rights. The closest I’ve ever gotten to taking interest in a prisoner was during the time I binge watched season 1 and 2 of Orange is the New Black.

Burton gave an interview a year ago to Rolling Stone magazine in which she said she and Manson planned to marry. But Manson, who became notorious in 1969 as the leader of a roving “family” of young killers, was less certain about tying the knot.

“That’s a bunch of garbage,” Manson said in the December 2013 interview. “That’s trash We’re playing that for public consumption.”

Asked Monday about those comments, Burton said, “None of that’s true,” adding that they’re waiting for the prison to complete their paperwork.

Maybe this woman needs to check herself into a mental institution. Mason clearly doesn’t want to marry her. If anything he’s just keeping her around for company. I’m curious as to what this woman’s background is, as in, what she does for a living, what kind of environment she grew up in, just the normal pick your brain type of stuff. I’m actually hoping for more coverage on this. This just took strange to a whole new level.

